

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

September 18, 2013

The Honorable Robert Bentley Governor State of Alabama Montgomery, Alabama 36130

Dear Governor Bentley:

Thank you for your letter of August 7, 2013, requesting a disaster designation for Alabama counties that suffered losses due to excessive rain and flooding that has occurred in 2013.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses in 50 counties to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation. Therefore, I am designating 50 Alabama counties as primary natural disaster areas due to damage and losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred during the period of January 1, 2013, and continuing. Those counties are:

Autauga	Cleburne	Geneva	Macon	Russell
Baldwin	Coosa	Greene	Madison	St. Clair
Barbour	Covington	Hale	Marengo	Shelby
Blount	Crenshaw	Henry	Mobile	Sumter
Bullock	Cullman	Houston	Monroe	Talladega
Calhoun	Dale	Jackson	Montgomery	Tallapoosa
Cherokee	Dallas	Jefferson	Morgan	Tuscaloosa
Chilton	Elmore	Lamar	Perry	Walker
Choctaw	Etowah	Lauderdale	Pickens	Washington
Clarke	Fayette	Lowndes	Pike	Wilcox

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your State are named as contiguous disaster counties. Those counties are:

Bibb	Coffee	Escambia	Marion
Butler	Colbert	Lawrence	Marshall
Chambers	Conecuh	Lee	Randolph
Clay	De Kalb	Limestone	Winston

The Honorable Robert Bentley Page 2

In addition, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in adjacent States are named as contiguous disaster areas. Those States, counties, and numbers are:

Florida	(5)			
Escambia	Holmes	Jackson	Okaloosa	Walton
Georgia	(13)			
Carroll	Clay	Floyd	Polk	Seminole
Chattahoochee	Dade	Haralson	Quitman	Stewart
Chattooga	Early	Muscogee		
Mississippi	(11)			
Clarke	Jackson		Lowndes	Tishomingo
George	Kemper		Monroe	Wayne
Greene	Lauderdal	е	Noxubee	•
Tennessee	(7)			
Franklin	Hardin		Lincoln	Wayne
Giles	Lawrence		Marion	-

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm, and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Thomas J. Vilsack